The Governing Mayor

Governing Mayor Raymond Johansen (Labour Party)

Governing Mayor is the head of the City Government and appoints up to seven Vice Mayors. The role of the Governing Mayor can be compared to that of a prime minister while the role of the Vice Mayors may be compared to that of national government ministers. The Governing Mayor coordinates the City Government’s work, and is responsible for cross cutting policies and coordinating staff functions.

Governing Mayor Johansen determines the portfolios of the Vice Mayors and coordinates the City Government’s work. He also has the responsibility for civil protection and security in Oslo as well as international cooperation and policy.

Governing Mayor Johansen (born 1961) has lived in Oslo for most of his life. He has to adult twin-sons and is married to Christin Kristoffersen.

Johansen is educated as a plumber, but most of his working life has been dedicated to politics. At the age of 30 he was appointed to the City Government in Oslo as Vice Mayor for Transport and Nature Preservation, then representing the Socialist Left Party. Since joining the Norwegian Labour Party in 1997 Governing Mayor Johansen has served as State Secretary in the Ministry of Foreign Affairs under both Cabinets of Jens Stoltenberg. Johansen served as the Secretary General of the Labour Party from 2009 until 2015 when he resigned to run for Governing Mayor of Oslo.

Governing Mayor Johansen has gained broad experience from working with international development from his work as Head of Department in the Norwegian Agency for Development Cooperation and as Secretary General for the Norwegian Refugee Council. The Governing Mayor’s interests also cover areas such as sports, and Johansen was previously member of the board of Vålerenga Football Club in Oslo.

On 21 October 2015 Raymond Johansen started his term as Governing Mayor of Oslo and leads a City Government Coalition composed of representatives from the Labour Party, the Green Party and the Socialist Left Party.

Oslo is one of the fastest growing cities in Europe, and has inhabitants from more than 200 nations. The capital is a green city with a unique access to nature, pulsating cultural life, great academic institutions and a business community full of initiative. Governing Mayor Johansen has very ambitious goals for the development of Oslo, ensuring a vibrant, green and climate-smart city with equal opportunities for everyone.

Governing Mayor Raymond Johansen's Curriculum Vitae (PDF 0,2MB)


23 46 19 31
Postal address:
Rådhuset, Rådhusplassen 1
0037 OSLO
Visitor address:
Rådhuset, Rådhusplassen 1, 0037 OSLO