Norwegian parliamentary election 2021

Information about the Norwegian parliamentary election and Sami parliamentary election 2021.

Who can vote?

You have the right to vote in the parliamentary election if you:

  • are a Norwegian citizen
  • will have reached the age of 18 by the end of 2021
  • are, or have ever been, registered in the Population Register as resident in Norway

The electoral register

The electoral register (manntall) is a list of everyone who has the right to vote in a municipality. To be able to vote, you must be included on the electoral roll of a municipality.

You are automatically entered into the electoral register of the municipality you are registered in the Population Register as resident in on 30 June in the year of the election.

If you move to another municipality after 30 June, you will still have the right to vote in the municipality you have moved out of even if you report your change of address.

How to check if you are in the electoral register

You can check if you are included in the electoral register in Oslo by calling 23 46 12 12. We are open all weekdays from 09:00 to 15:00.

If you are not correctly enrolled in the electoral register you can send an e-mail to The request needs to be justified in writing. Note that this does not apply if you move after 30 June 2021.

Bring your ID when you vote

You must show identification when you go to vote. As a minimum, the identification must contain your name, date of birth and a photo. Examples of valid identification include a passport, driving licence or bank card with your photo

You do not need to bring your polling card (valgkort) with you when you vote. The polling card does not count as identification.

Where and when to vote

Advance voting

During the advance voting period, you can vote in polling stations across the country.

You can vote in advance at any of the 29 available polling stations in Oslo from 10 August to 10 September. Opening hours:

  • 10 August to 5 September:
    • Monday – Friday: 10.00 – 19.00
    • Saturday: 10.00 – 18.00 (Blindern is closed on Saturdays)
  • 6 September to 10 September:
    • Monday – Friday: 10.00 – 21.00

Read more information on voting in advance.

Election days

On the election days, you must vote in the municipality where you are registered as resident in the Population Register.

You can vote at any of the 103 polling stations in Oslo on the following days:

  • Sunday, 12 September: 13.00–1800
  • Monday, 13 September: 09.00–21.00

Find your nearest polling station at

Voting at home

If you are ill or disabled, you can apply to vote from home.

You must apply by 10 September 2021. The application must include your name, phone number, address and date of birth.

Send an email to or call 23 46 12 12.  

How to vote

Read guidance on how to vote here.

Do you live abroad?

 Read information about voting abroad here.

Are you in quarantine or isolation?

Do not come to a polling station if you are sick, in isolation or in quarantine.

If you are in quarantine we recommend waiting until the quarantine is over to vote. If this is not possible you can:

  • Vote from your car, both in the advance voting period or on the election days.
  • Vote from home.

If you have symptoms of respiratory infection or appointed isolation, you have to wait until you no longer have symptoms and the appointed isolation period is over. If you are in isolation the last week before the election days you can apply to vote from home. Two people from the election staff with infection control equipment will collect your vote from your home. You need to wear a mask when you vote.

If you are in quarantine or isolation the last week before the election days, you can apply to vote from home until 13. September at 10.00.  If you are not in isolation or quarantine the deadline is 10. September at 10.00.

Sami parliamentary election 2021

Every Sami person registered in the Sami Parliament electoral register has the right to vote.

You can vote in any municipality in the country between 10 August and 10 September. In Oslo you can also vote at the polling stations 12 September and 13 September. Voting for the Sami parliamentary election takes places in the same polling stations as for the Norwegian parliamentary election.