Go to content

Oslo European Green Capital 2019

Oslo is the European Green Capital for 2019. Oslo has been awarded by the European Commission after an application process and a jury presentation in June 2017.

Oslo came out as the winner when 14 European cities competed to become European Green Capital in 2019. In the competition participating cities are assessed on 12 environmental indicators in a technical application. Additionally the five highest ranking cities were invited to present their vision and commitment to being a role model for a greener future.

Oslo ranked highest in the technical assessment and the jury was particularly impressed by the holistic approach demonstrated by Oslo covering topics ranging from biodiversity, public transport, social integration and citizen health accompanied by the theme ‘City for everyone, putting people first’.

- It is a great recognition for Oslo to win the European Green Capital Award for 2019. Oslo is a front-runner on many environmental issues. In 2019 Oslo will share and discuss the solutions for the sustainable cities of the future, says Governing Mayor Raymond Johansen. 

A project secretariat is under establishment and will be in charge of developing an exciting, engaging and relevant program for 2019. The whole city will be invited to contribute to a celebration of Green City Life but also to address common challenges across Europe. 

If you wish to contact the secretariat please send an e-mail to: greencapital@oslo.kommune.no 

Facts about the European Green Capital Award

Starting in 2010, one European city is selected each year as the European Green Capital of the year. The award is given to a city that:

  • Has a consistent record of achieving high environmental standards;
  • Is committed to ongoing and ambitious goals for further environmental improvement and sustainable development;
  • Can act as a role model to inspire other cities and promote best practices to all other European cities.
  • The initiative was launched by the European Commission in 2008.


Read the Jury report.

Read the City of Oslo's application.

Read the expert panel’s report on the finalist cities.